Review in SMS – the perks of being a wallflower

24 12 2012
RIS - the perks of being a wallflower

A review in SMS – the perks of being a wallflower

IN LINE at Kinokuniya at Takashimaya, I saw this book on the shelf by the counter.  A voice behind me said, “Oh, they’ve made the movie already!”  The voice cut past me, picked one and brandished it to her friends.

I read the blurb at the back cover of “the perks of being a wallflower” and felt like reading a part of just about anybody’s life when people cared only about what they used to be.  Logan Lerman, Emma Watson and Ezra Miller are perfectly cast.  (Ezra was amazing in “We Should Talk About Kevin.”)

Music, in mix tapes and vinyl, hold the movie together, especially when Charlie sings to “All Out of Love”.  Crowded House’s “Don’t Dream It’s Over” drove me insanely sentimental.  With the book, I laughed, I cried.  Now with the movie too.

The perks of being a moviegoer?  I get to enjoy a couple of slices of pizza, the cholesterol, not to mention the guilt, I washed down with iced green tea.

 

Faves:

“Why do nice people choose the wrong people to date?”

“You see things.  And you understand.  You’re a wallflower.”

WRITE ABOUT US… SOMETHING.

the perks of being a wallflower - Kinokuniya 00

I saw the book on the shelf by the counter at Kinokuniya at Takashimaya. The one beside it, Cloud Atlas, has also been recently adapted into film.

 

the perks of being a wallflower - Kinokuniya 01

I just had to get myself a copy! For a few days, it became my reading material of choice during my MRT rides to and from work.

 

Copyright © 2012 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

