At the Fort

14 03 2013
Avant_at_The_Fort_00_Facade

AVANT AT THE FORT. I’m really lovin’ this Lacoste Flag Shirt, Korea edition. Of course I also have it in Italia.

I KNEW I was really sick when I couldn’t care less about the inflight cuisine.  I couldn’t be bothered by the flight attendant to respond with my choice of meal.  Instead, I ended up snacking on antipyretics while ensconced beneath a blanket.  The very first time I have ever done so on a flight.

I spent the first three days of my most recent vacation just trying to convalesce.  By the time I was up and about, I knew no better way to spend my time than tag along with my brother when he went inspecting his latest projects.  He’s currently working on a couple of units at some of the more covetable addresses in the metro.

When he was done talking to his teams – the foreman, contractors, laborers, electricians – we went to lunch at UCC, with the rest of the family.  But not before first making a walking tour of Burgos Circle at Forbes Town Center, with the requisite stop at the MINI COOPER dealership on Fifth Avenue.  At UCC, he introduced me to his favorite coffee concoction – the Kori Kohi Coffee – as he lunched on Seafood Risotto.

Kori Kohi Coffee is simply coffee “ice cubes” in a tall glass, on which you pour warm milk until the cubes melt.  A little stir turns this confection into a freezing frenzy that could make you ditch your usual latte at the more popular coffee chains.

I did.

Avant_at_The_Fort_01_Ceiling

Our first stop was AVANT at the Fort. Upon entering the lobby, my sight got transfixed on to this “ceiling treatment” of a chandelier. I was told that it was inspired by actual Swarovski crystal-studded dangling earrings.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_15_Lobby

Another view of the chandelier over the lobby.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_02_Lobby

I was told that the lobby was designed by the country’s top interior design firm. I actually liked the cathedral ceiling and the furnishings. Spare and minimalist.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_03_Elevator

Then it was time to hit the elevator. Of course, when surrounded by mirrored walls, I couldn’t help cam-whoring.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_04_Elevator

A parting shot at the elevator landing.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_05_Elevator

I lug along a number of my wristwatches when I travel. For this day out, I decided to strap on a Philip Stein Signature Large and a Tissot Heritage Prince I.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_07_View

The view from one of the windows of the “huge” unit – the first of a couple of my brother’s projects in this high rise.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_08_View

I love this other view for how the golden arches stand out!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_09_Elevator

Then it was time to hit the elevators again to go to the other unit several floors down.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_10_Elevator

Cam-whoring!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_11_View

This unit has floor-to-ceiling glass windows on one side.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_12_View_4

I just had to snap this photo of this window because of the number “4”. It happends to be an important number to me.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_13_Level4

See, I snap anything that says number “4”!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_14_Elevator

I saw my reflection on the elevator panel and I felt like a Fernando Botero.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_17_Lobby

I had to wait in the lobby as my brother went on with his official business. I like waiting in lobbies.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_20_Table

See, I had time to admire the appointments. I particularly liked this glass table top supported by this “wavy” or “wrought” metal.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_18_Lobby

Of course, I had to pose by that Swarovski crystal chandelier.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_20_One_McKinley

ONE McKINLEY Place is nearby.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_21_One_McKinley

At ONE McKINLEY Place

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_22_Building

I love the look of this building. It’s like one big gift with silver ribbons swirled all around it.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_23_Mini_Cooper

Yehey! It’s the MINI Store!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_24_Mini_Cooper

By the MINI COOPER in silver.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_25_Mini_Cooper

Red is always auspicious!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_26_Mini_Cooper

Tickled pink. Mama loves this one.

 

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_27_Mini_Cooper

At MINI GLOBAL CITY on Fifth Avenue

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_28_I_Heart_Taguig

I heart Taguig!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_29_Wrong_Ramen

“WRONG RAMEN”. This restaurant was still on soft opening. The name caught my attention. The personnel at the door was kind enough to engage me into a discussion about the place’s name. It is ramen so good that it is “wrong” for you.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_30_Wrong_Ramen

“The last guy who ate here left screaming in pure ecstasy.”

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_31_Wrong_Ramen

Whoever did the branding for WRONG RAMEN got it all right! The “X” could mean “wrong” or the chopsticks that you eat ramen with!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_32_Wrong_Ramen

I already have a favorite from this list!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_33_Wrong_Ramen

I find that the soft opening menu was quite pretty in its stark simplicity.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_34_Gelato

My heart skips a beat over anything gelato.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_35_Gelato

Here’s looking at you, Kuya Michele. Hahaha!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_36_Sculpture

This sculpture at the “park” piqued my interest.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_37_Sculpture

Gotta have a photo!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_38_Cucina_Italiana

Pasta! Pizza! Steaks! Count me in!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_39_Forbes

It’s all about living the good life!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_40_Forbes

…Which to me means lots of sleep! Hahaha!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_42_Mama

After all the walking, it was time for lunch! Mama and I on our way to UCC at Burgos Circle.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_43_Cath_Kidston

Mama brought along one of her Cath Kidstons, among her many bags.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_44_Kopi

The Kori Kohi Coffee is served! We went over my blog on my brother’s Google Nexus 7.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_45_Kopi

The Italians are quite the consummate coffee connoisseurs. So my photo with Kuya Michele and the “third” Michele by good Kori Kohi Cofee is quite fitting.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_48_Kopi

Kori Kohi Coffee is simply coffee “ice cubes” in a tall glass, on which you pour warm milk until the cubes melt. A little stir turns this confection into a freezing frenzy that could make you ditch your usual latte at the more popular coffee chains.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_46_Seafood_Rissoto

UCC’s Seafood Risotto hits the table! It’s my brother’s favorite.

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_47_Seafood_Rissoto

This is a winner!

 

Avant_at_The_Fort_49_Afternoon_Sun

The afternoon sun and the clear blue sky made the day perfect. On a clear day, you can see forever!

 

Copyright © 2013 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

