Jo to the world

18 04 2013
Ms_Jo_0413_00

Ms. Jo and her “dearest eNTeNG,” meeting up in Singapore for the very first time ever. I love how she has always referred to me that way.

MANY PERSONALITIES make me up.  So it is always a monumental task for someone to get me “get me”.  When I find people who do, I try not to lose them.

Where I used to work, I have never been made to feel really understood or really important any better than by Ms. Jo Damian.  She used to be the Senior Executive Assistant to a number of our company’s General Managers (think, Country Managers) before taking on the role of Senior Human Resources Business Partner.  At some point, she was – for all intents and purposes – our HR Manager.  She was a major force behind getting us all here in the Lion City, although nothing was in store for her for doing so.  I guess she got something better – unspoken appreciation, lifelong gratitude, and much love.  She is guaranteed of those, at least from me.

I worked with her on the biggest and highest level programs, and together, we handled most of the Site’s communications.  Our collaborative efforts culminated with the coffee table book “Faces of Memory,” to commemorate all the men and women who were part of our former company.  Call it vain, pointless conceit but that book is on my all–time Top 10 List.  Hahaha!

Coffee Table Book Core Team 04

Our official photo as the Editorial Team of the coffee table book “Faces of Memory”. With Ms. Jo and me are Jack (left) and Alfie (right).

 

Coffee Table Book Core Team 01

This was actually my favorite of all the photos. Haha! I love to have been immortalized in this reclining position. Notice the two wristwatches I have on? I do love stacking them.

 

Coffee Table Book Core Team 03

I’ve always felt that Ms. Jo treats me like her own son. Although she’s more like my big sister.

 

Coffee Table Book - Dedications 00

Ms. Jo wrote me a note on this page of my copy of “Faces of Memory”.

 

Coffee Table Book Core Team 02

What Filipino photo shoot is complete without the requisite wacky shot?! Hahaha!

Ms. Jo was here for a couple of days last week.  And while I missed the dinner in her honor, I was at least able to take her to the airport and see her off.  I put more weight to the latter, knowing all too well that that is one gesture I do only for the truly deserving.

Thanks, Ms. Jo.  And I shall see you again!

Ms_Jo_0413_02

We didn’t play with ramen. But we did have it for lunch. Alvin and I with Ms. Jo at Ajisen Ramen on the day of her flight back to Manila.

 

Ms_Jo_0413_15

Welcome back to Changi Airport Terminal 2!

 

Ms_Jo_0413_16

Ms. Jo took a Singapore Airlines flight back. I don’t know a better way to fly.

 

Ms_Jo_0413_03

Just two small pieces of luggage – a check-in in her favorite shade of purple and a carry-on (which is actually her laptop). The red bag contained lots of her favorite Bee Cheng Hiang beef jerky. The lambskin leather bag is actually my Longchamp Parisi, just joining in for the group shot.

 

Ms_Jo_0413_04

Ms. Jo knows me like the back of her hand. So when she had made it to the end of the line to the check-in, she knew that I would be grabbing that opportunity to snap shots away. She turned around on this one just in time to catch me striking a pose. Hahaha!

 

Ms_Jo_0413_05

This is the proper one.

 

Ms_Jo_0413_06

Alvin and Ms. Jo.

 

Ms_Jo_0413_07

Then it was my turn.

 

Ms_Jo_0413_08

Ms. Jo, in head-to-toe Marks & Spencer, against the backdrop of Changi Airport Terminal 2.

 

Ms_Jo_0413_10

Spectacles – Ray-Ban Classic Wayfarers in white. T-shirt – “Last Night The DJ Saved My Life” from Malaysia. Bottoms – Adidas running shorts. Wristwatch – Philip Stein Signature Large. Bag – Longchamp Parisi in lambskin leather trimmed with cowhide and/or goat skin. Shoes – TOMS in red corduroy.

 

Ms_Jo_0413_11

“Goodbye… it’s time for me to go…”

 

Ms_Jo_0413_12

Just one more for the road

 

Ms_Jo_0413_13

My reflection on the stainless steel frame of the departure area gate. We waited until Ms. Jo had cleared immigration.

 

Ms_Jo_0413_14

One more time for a selfie!

 

Ms_Jo_0413_18

Take away some FRESHNESS – a slice of New York Cheesecake and a venti Caramel Frappuccino.

 

Ms_Jo_0413_17

eNTeNG, Starbucks Coffee, Changi Airport Terminal 2, Singapore.

Copyright © 2013 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 04 2013
Aileen Suriaga

Being with Flash for a long time, I am intrigued about the coffee table book, Faces of Memory. Too bad I didn’t get to see it. 😦

Like

18 04 2013
JoD

Finally met my dearest Enteng after 2 long years…great to see u again, love u my friend, my anak, everything 🙂

Like

Leave a Reply

