Comfort notes

19 05 2013

OFTEN HERE in Singapore, I don’t need to move away from my desk to survive a hectic workday.  I can successfully keep the insatiable, unceasing hunger pangs at bay with munchies I pop in my mouth from time to time.  You probably think that I could very well have made a pantry of one of the three drawers on my MPD (mobile personal drawer).  To a certain extent, I did.  But I actually survive more through the “love and care for me that is in other people.”

From_Intern_Someone

One morning, I found this paper rose on my desk. I still don’t know who made it for me. Ok, cue the song… “Paper roses / paper roses / …” HAHA!

If only my cubicle walls could talk, I would be regaled with anecdotes of food and notes left on my desk by some of the most generous and it has to be said – lovable – people I’ve ever come across here.  The surprises would come in the morning, perfect for starting one’s day, and any other time in between.  Regardless, they’re perfect for adding a spring – no, make that chutzpah – to one’s step in yet another long day in the office.

The food may have long disappeared – believe me, they’ve had (haha!) – but I have the accompanying notes to go back to and read.  They’re like a warm blanket I can pull up to my chin when the cool breeze blows through my windows at night.

And even in the perennial tropic that is the Singaporean warm weather, there really are times when the cool wind blows.

Biscuits_Alicia_01

I receive a lot of these from my Malaysian friends. But this one, its Chinese name translated to “Black Sugar Biscuit” has got to be one of the ultimate best!

 

Biscuits_Alicia_00

I asked someone to translate for me what these lovely delicious balls of gooey goodness are called. “Black Sugar Biscuits,” he said.

 

Gift_Iris_00

Malaysian treats don’t have to exclusively come from Malaysians. I have a Singaporean friend who always remembers me too!

 

Gift_Iris_02

These biscuits had a (purple) yam filling. Quite scrumptious too! I liked it.

 

Love_Letters_Alicia_00

These treats are paper-thin wafers or crepes called “Love Letters,” made by hand by a colleague’s aunt. Each bears a very intricate pattern. They are so delicious.

 

From_MsLynda 05

These two boxes came all the way from Shanghai in China, from a beloved colleague I respectfully call “Ms. Lynda.”

 

From_MsLynda 00

One box contained these sesame seed finger biscuits that had the feel and taste of biscotti. Perfect with tea or coffee.

 

From_MsLynda 01

More cookies in the other box.

 

Sandwich_Bethlana_00

This is one amazing sandwich made by Betchie (or by her “Staff”). To this slice I sing, “Sana maulit muli…” Hahaha!

 

Teas_Rhonee_00

A variety of teas from Rhonee

 

Cadbury_Brunch_Bar_00

My current “half-and-half” fixation, introduced to me by Cecille – Cadbury Brunch Bars! Every bar is half guilt, half “good-for-you” goodness.

 

Cupcakes from Ms. Sharon 00

Two muffins from Ms. Sharon

 

TTS03

Chocolates galore! Godiva, no less. And there are so many others. Like that pack on the left. I’m not crazy about chocolates. But it’s nice to be thought of from time to time.

 

Note_Kyla_Keisha_00

Two of the most heartwarming notes I’ve ever received came from my Bez’s (Glenda) two daughters, Kyla and Keisha!

 

Note_Kyla_Keisha_01

The letter from Keisha opens up, literally, and actually has a story to it.

 

Note_Kyla_Keisha_02

This one is from Kyla.

 

Notes_Collage_00

A collage of more recent notes that have been taking up real estate on my wall.

 

Notes_Collage_02_Madeline

This came posted on a couple of morning treats from Ms. Madeline.

 

Notes_Collage_01_Madeline

It’s soya!

 

Thank_You_Note_Madeline_00

Saw this on my notebook at the end of a workday.

 

Notes_Collage_03_Madeline

Thanks again, Ms. Madeline!

 

Wall_Notes_00

Blast from the past – Some really memorable notes.

 

Wall_Notes_01

A lovely note from Trisha. Beside it is a card from Melissa and Sam.

 

Wall_Notes_03

Only a true kolehiyala has monogrammed stationery. Hahaha!

 

Wall_Notes_02

From Dearest Daphne Tatiana!

 

Wall_Notes_04

Of course there is a note from Batman!

 

ZhouBin Note 00

A farewell note from my Chinese best friend, Bin!

TTS03

Copyright © 2013 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 05 2013
Alexis

I’m a sucker for handwritten notes myself. There’s just something about them — the person taking time out to grab some paper (those special stationery pieces being my fave) and filling it with their unique ink strokes — that is special. I’m glad to have found someone who appreciates them as well.

I think I want my own personalised envelopes a la Data! Hahaha!

Like

10 08 2013
rhosgar

I see more variety of teas in your future!

– your friendly neighborhood tea reader

Like

Leave a Reply

