The heat is on in Saigon

7 04 2014

 

FOR A place with stark interiors, the menu at Dong Khanh Vietnamese Restaurant was daunting.  But just like what The Library of Babel T-Shirt says, “You can’t rule the world if you can’t decide what to order.”  So, armed with my own resolve to rule my own world, I zoomed into the taste of the familiar that seemed buried beneath an array of lunch specials and enticing combo options.

My Pho Beef at Dong Khanh Vietnamese Restaurant on Broadway in Boise, Idaho.  It is now my "usual".

My Pho Beef at Dong Khanh Vietnamese Restaurant on Broadway in Boise, Idaho. It is now my “usual”.

In a seeming defiance towards the tastes of my Compadre Dennis dL and Cher Hong, Yulia, and Victor who all asked for the humongous Spicy Chicken (or Beef) lunch plates, I asked for the Pho Beef – a huge bowl of thin glass noodles swimming in flavorful broth, served with a side of bean sprouts, sweet basil, slivers of jalapeno peppers and a wedge of lime.

The size of greens that add new layers of texture and flavor to the soup.  Staring at these make me feel like I had already made penance for all the fat I had consumed.

The size of greens that add new layers of texture and flavor to the soup. Staring at these make me feel like I had already made penance for all the fat I had consumed.

The self-proclaimed expert in me – on anything noodles – sees the beauty of Vietnamese cuisine, the pho in particular, in its simple, clean flavors that allow itself to be customized to one’s taste.  And this is achieved exactly with the medley of the sides it is served with.  Dump the bean sprouts in and a new layer of texture (crunch) is instantly added.  Tear the basil leaves to perfume the already restorative broth.  Wake up your senses with the interplay of chili and lime.

The popular – and ginormous – Spicy Chicken plate!

The popular – and ginormous – Spicy Chicken plate!

But Dong Khanh makes the best pho this side of Mountain Time zone because they start with arguably the cleanest, most flavorful broth I have ever tasted in the States.  And when I come to think of it, I would say even in the Philippines and Singapore.

Linda, who attended to us, was the most convivial of servers I have encountered of late.  She was quite attentive without being overbearing.  She told me they don’t have fresh lemonade on their drink menu but with a smile said that she won’t mind giving me iced water and slices of fresh lemons if I’d consider it.  I’ve often been told that if the food sucks, the service would be impeccable.  I have held that as absolute truth.

Well, Dong Khanh disproves that absolutely.

Compadreng dL™©, Cher Hong, Victor, Yulia, and, eNTeNG.

Compadreng dL™©, Cher Hong, Victor, Yulia, and, eNTeNG.

 

Dong Khanh Vietnamese Restaurant

Address: 2137 S Broadway Ave, Boise, ID 83706

Phone: +1 (208) 345-0980

Hours: 11:00 AM – 3:00 PM, 4:30 PM – 10:00 PM

 

 

Copyright © 2014 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

