Marinara I want to master

5 05 2014

WHATEVER PROPRIETY remains in me – not to mention the little elbow room one is allowed in the caféteria – was all that prevented me from licking my Rubbermaid™ TakeAlongs™ clean of what arguably could only be the best marinara sauce I’ve ever had that I didn’t reach for from the supermarket shelf, pour on a deep dish, nuke for a minute, and then toss with breathless–in–anticipation angel hair.

image (5)

A rosemary leaf perched atop a fork-ful of angel hair in the amazing Jonathan Young Marinara Sauce.

Except that in this instance, the last two actions – nuking and tossing – couldn’t be helped. This superb pasta meal for today’s lunch is, it has to be said, a lunch box treat from a dear colleague at work – the Mr. Jonathan Young.

It’s his own recipe. And for making the huge batch that he just did (they’re hosting a pasta dinner at home tonight), he used canned tomatoes – which to me is surprising as all the flavor I got from the first bite was a smack of fresh goodness. I could tell that the generous amount of finely minced garlic was allowed to sweat much in the extra virgin olive oil, rendering the sauce with a hint of “smoky”–ness that’s not arresting, like, if the garlic had burned. And like a bouquet of subtle perfumed essence, fresh rosemary leaves dot the sauce sparingly – and in the mouth, teasing the palate here and there.

I was warned by the “Chef” that this could be quite spicy. It was, but not the kind that hurts. It was actually like a subdued flavor layer all its own. The kind that allows the tart and the slight sweetness to manifest themselves first before it creeps from nowhere, making its presence known only by a gentle warmth that encompasses the robust flavors that I now call as indeed the best marinara sauce I’ve had in years.

It’s my friend’s own recipe. No, make that Chef Young. And how I wish I could just as easily reach for it from the supermarket shelf, pour it on to a deep dish, nuke it for a minute, and then toss it with angel hair.

Rubbermaid™ TakeAlongs™ make for perfect containers to separate the pasta from the sauce.  Notice how smooth Jonathan Young's Marinara Sauce is, yet it is dotted here and there by finely minced garlic.

Rubbermaid™ TakeAlongs™ make for perfect containers to separate the pasta from the sauce. Notice how smooth Jonathan Young’s Marinara Sauce is, yet it is dotted here and there by finely minced garlic.

 

A smack on the tissue was all that prevented me from licking the containers!

A smack on the tissue was all that prevented me from licking the containers!

 

The experience, as posted on my Instagram.

The experience, as posted on my Instagram.

 

Copyright © 2014 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

