Remembering Mommy

1 11 2014

THERE ARE moments in my childhood that have stayed with me for like, forever.  No matter how far my road leads me from where I started, I thank my memories for always bringing me back.

I am the self–proclaimed guardian of traditions – I almost said Galaxy! – when my brothers and I were little.  I participated in all the Roman Catholic feasts and I always tagged along with Mommy, my maternal grandmother.  We were together for Night Masses at Christmas time, and the procession at dawn on Easter Sunday.  On a day like today, November 1ST, we would’ve gotten up quite early to go to the cemetery to pay our respects at my grandfather’s tomb, which we would’ve tidied up a few days before.

It’s been a year and a half since she had passed.  And today I remember her.  Not that I don’t think about her often.  Because I still do.  And I do love the fact that I always see her in my dreams.  In all those dreams, I’d be very much aware that she is already gone – she actually points it out sometimes – but each has always been a cheerful meeting.

And like the proper lady that she has always been, she’d say towards the end, “I’ve got to go.”

I miss you, Mommy.

I travel with a number of choice photographs.  A couple of them are shown here.  That's favorite photo of Mommy, side by side with that of one of her great grandchildren.  This was taken from my desk somewhere in Boise, Idaho.

I travel with a number of choice photographs. A couple of them are shown here. That’s favorite photo of Mommy, side by side with that of one of her great grandchildren. This was taken from my desk somewhere in Boise, Idaho.

 

My most recent quiet time with Mommy.  Well, outside the realm of my dreams.

My most recent quiet time with Mommy. Well, outside the realm of my dreams.

 

When I'd visit her before, she would make it a point to ask, "Anong relo suot mo?" ("What watch are you wearing?")  I know, she sounds like the Fashion Police.  I know exactly which her favorite wrist watch was.

When I’d visit her before, she would make it a point to ask, “Anong relo suot mo?” (“What watch are you wearing?”) I know, she sounds like the Fashion Police. I know exactly which her favorite wrist watch was.

 

"Hi Mommy, I miss you.  By the way, it's a Technomarine I'm wearing to see you today."

“Hi Mommy, I miss you. By the way, it’s a Technomarine I’m wearing to see you today.”

 

"Mommy, let's take a selfie together."

“Mommy, let’s take a selfie together.”

 

“Well, it’s time to go, Mommy. I’ll see you again next time. Or let’s meet and chat again in my dreams!”

Copyright © 2014 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

