Row row row your boat

7 02 2015

“LIFE IS short.  Paddle hard.”  I see that on graphic tees all over Singapore.  I believe it to be true – like the duck, I’m calm and collected on the surface while paddling furiously underneath – so it was nice to be too literal with the metaphor, for a change, and take my first shot at dragon boating.

"Are we paddling yet?  You calling out to me?", the thought bubble above my head said.  Then they took this shot.  I love love love it.

“Are we paddling yet? You calling out to me?”, the thought bubble above my head said. Then they took this shot. I love love love it.

So I picked up a training paddle at the Kallang Water Sports Centre and took my first ever crack at breaking the waves.

This first time was brought by my company’s Sports and Recreation Committee, of which I’m a part.  But I am seriously considering to pick it up as my sport – not “weather permitting” but “my schedule permitting.”

I thought that this event was perfect to finally  take my official Philippine Dragon Boat Federation out for a spin.  Or a row.

I thought that this event was perfect to finally take my official Philippine Dragon Boat Federation jersey out for a spin. Or more appropriately, a row.  This was my country’s official jersey to the World Dragon Boat Championships in Szeged, Hungary.

 

 

My housemate snapped this shot before I went on my way.  She thought this was an awesome #OOTD.  Haha!

My housemate snapped this shot before I went on my way. She thought this was an awesome #OOTD. Haha!

 

 

Not that I doubted the first #OOTD comment I got, but I made it early at the meeting point so I just got to take one more snap, the duo of urinals notwithstanding.

Not that I doubted the first #OOTD comment I got, but I made it early at the meeting point so I just got to take one more snap, the duo of urinals notwithstanding.

 

 

Dragon_Boat_04

I’m not a rubber flip-flops person. But I’d got to get one. This pair of fipper© classics, bought the night before, cost me only S$ 9.99 and turned out to be perfect!

 

 

 

Kallang Water Sports Centre...  home of the action!

Kallang Water Sports Centre… home of the action!

 

 

It was an awesome day to paddle!

It was an awesome day to paddle!

 

 

A professional gave a short talk on Dragon Boat for Beginners, and later led the requisite stretching.  This guy was so so so cool and funny!  And really an authority on the subject matter.

A professional gave a short talk on Dragon Boat for Beginners, and later led the requisite stretching. This guy was so so so cool and funny! And really an authority on the subject matter.

 

 

My fellow first-time paddlers against the backdrop of the awesome Singapore skyline at daylight, anchored on to the image of the Singapore Flyer.  This is my favorite from all the photos taken.

My fellow first-time paddlers against the backdrop of the awesome Singapore skyline at daylight, anchored on to the image of the Singapore Flyer. This is my favorite from all the photos taken.

 

 

My Team won the race!  Haha!  That's one of my three Malaysian #BFFs, Michael, getting his award, a token wooden paddle.

My Team won the race! Haha! That’s one of my three Malaysian #BFFs, Michael, getting his award, a token wooden paddle.

 

 

That was a tiring, but really invigorating experience!

That was a tiring, but really invigorating experience!

 

 

From the water to dry land.  I find that the Stadium MRT station is one of the picturesque !  I love the play of blue hues.

From the water to dry land. I find that the Stadium MRT station is one of the picturesque ! I love the play of blue hues.

 

 

From one sport to yet another – shopping on Orchard Road!  Haha!  Gotta take a #selfie at the earliest convenience.

From one sport to yet another – shopping on Orchard Road! Haha! Gotta take a #selfie at the earliest convenience.

Copyright © 2015 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

