Kuya Mike and pasta

29 06 2013

THE DIFFERENCE in time zones is the loophole of lapses in thoughtfulness.  Clearly, I mean this about friends who have oceans between them – blame it on the time zone, so to speak.  If this post had made it to the third week of May or at most the one after that, then I would claim my opening sentence to be nothing but absolute truth.  Or, at least my scapegoat.  But this post obviously is more of the really belated kind.  No loophole could justify the delay.

Well, I guess there’s one – I actually know when his birthday is, independent of any post on his facebook wall, and I always remember to greet him.  But then again, it is indeed way too late.

So let this be just one of those posts about my few but well thought out friendships.  It’s coming at a time when the cinemas are rumbling with the 40–minute pivotal action sequence in one of the more definitive superhero movies of our time.  So clearly, this post that talks about one of the superheroes in my life, is quite appropriate.

I’ve never really seen any of the cinematic installments but from what I’ve read about Tony Stark, it’s Kuya Mike who embodies him the most among my friends.  We came to Singapore together, had our first day at our new jobs together, and have since been waging our battles together.

F1_00

Kuya Mike a.k.a. Iron Man clearly drives for Scuderia Ferrari!

It’s amazing the clarity that comes with being down on your luck or just unexplainably sad.  You realize who your real friends are.  And you resolve to do your best to keep them.

Cartoccino_00

Linguine ai Frutti di Mare al Cartoccio (Linguine with Seafood “in the bag”). This has turned out to be Iron Man’s favorite pasta dish!

 

Pasalubong_00

I saw this pile first thing one morning and I knew that Iron Man was back for his hectic, full-packed two-week break from his assignment on the isle of Sicily. I said in jest that his “pasalubong” for me has had a consistent theme – an “I heart (place)” item and a… notebook! The one the chocolates are on came from his layover in Amsterdam.

I’m quite thankful to be really close friends with Kuya Mike.  That is, Iron Man.  Over a week ago, he took a Royal Dutch Airlines flight back to Italia.  I’m quite happy that he has this chance to enjoy God’s creation in a totally different place.  He deserves every good opportunity that comes his way.

And my special, limited edition airport send–off service.  Hahaha!

Kuya_Mike_Departure_00

Every airport send-off starts with a snapshot of the control tower as our taxi approaches. My trusty Canon IXUS 860IS really does have great stabilizer.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_01

We’ve arrived! It has to be said that Iron Man may seem to be the conscientious traveler. But he actually travels quite light, packing everything efficiently. If I were to go to Italia, I’d probably lug around twice as much. Haha!

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_02

While Iron Man fusses over his stuff for one final accounting before checking in, my attention was demanded by this dynamic work of art. I didn’t bother to check its name out just yet. All I could make of them at the time was that they seemed to be golden droplets of rain making beautiful patterns suspended in the sky.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_03

Here are those golden rain drops, suspended on parallel planes. Observing my being mesmerized, Iron Man quipped, “Boss, ngayon mo lang nakita yan?” (Boss, you’re just noticing that now?)

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_07

Iron Man took the Royal Dutch Airlines.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_05

Trust Audemars to give accurate time check. Iron Man’s flight leaves past midnight.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_04

The blogger and the superhero. That’s Iron Man at the check-in counter.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_06

Something in common with Iron Man: We travel in shorts!

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_08

I asked him to post for a photo in front of numbers “3” and “4”, two of my favorites.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_09

Like with most of those I had sent off at the airport, the first post-check-in activity involves… F–O–O–D.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_10

I realize that I have been in Singapore for two years, yet I haven’t been to Aston’s. This dinner with Iron Man was only my second time at the place – in the space of two days! It felt like a revenge for missing out. Both were such treats.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_13

I loved this chalk work on the board that I asked permission to photograph it. (Lest the store manager screams, “No photo please!”)

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_12

It was departure time so Iron Man was fielding text messages that were coming in a-plenty.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_15

Between Iron Man and me, the count was two wristwatches and three phones. If it were one of those days I fancy to strap on two watches, then it would’ve been three even.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_16

Tag Heuer and Technomarine – live together in perfect harmony… Channeling Stevie and Paulie. Hahaha!

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_17

The food has landed!

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_18

The same thing in the space of two days – the Prime Ribeye Extra Cut, with sides of french fries and steamed vegetables. I would’ve wanted the Macaroni & Cheese but given the lateness of the hour, they had run out.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_19

This is exactly how I want my meat – medium rare.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_20

See, nothing left. Hahaha!

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_21

Dinner’s done! It’s time to head to the departure area.

 

Kuya_Mike_Departure_22

Iron Man was a walking advertisement for UNIQLO. And North Face.

Copyright © 2013 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved


Actions

Information

2 responses

1 07 2013
michaelborreo

Thanks for all your support Boss! Good to see you writing again… Write some more (but not about me)… 🙂

Like

8 07 2013
kalamayaddict

Enteng, this is such a touching article! It clearly shows how the friendship is being treasured and cherished – which is really rare nowadays.. 🙂 As always, there was touch of music (I love the “Ebony and Ivory” thing. It’s one of the few Paul McCartney songs that I love.), good food (oh my! Aston’s steaks!) and fashion (the Audemars clock, the Tag and Technomarine watches… plus… I love Kuya Mike’s Onitsuka Tiger.)

Kuya Mike, belated Happy Birthday! 🙂 Pasalubong pag-uwi mo galing Italy… Inggit ako sa mga italian chocolates ni Enteng.. 🙂

Like

Leave a comment