The 80’s were like three decades ago*

9 02 2011

Finally... The Bird And The Bee's Hall & Oates revival album!

SOMETIMES IN our overeagerness to dispense of the latest news or the latest finds, our tongues slip and provide snippets of information – pieces of evidence enough to draw a conclusion – that we would’ve otherwise not spilled.

“Gosh, there’s this album I’ve been meaning to tell you about.  Here, to wish Giant Paulo all the best on his move abroad, I got him a copy, as well as a couple more for Iron Man and Green Lantern.  It’s a tribute album to Hall & Oates!  Arguably, the best album of covers that I’ve ever come across in years!”

“Boss, who is Hall & Oates?”

“What?!  You don’t know who they are?!”  I managed to snap back, short of screaming, “Are you telling me I’m that old?!”

The mention of “old” caused me to almost black out – think crimes of passion proportions – and I whipped out our Starbucks receipt and started to account how much to charge each for their drinks.  Sacrilege towards music icons and a callous indifference to the topic of age and age gaps will cost you!  Nobody would leave unscathed.  Hahaha!

Just kiddin’.  I guess that’s what you get – blank stares and sincere but insensitive “Who are they?” questions – when you choose to hang out with twenty-somethings.

The album that inadvertently trained the spotlight to my age is The Bird And The Bee’s Interpreting The Masters Volume I:  A Tribute To Daryl Hall and John Oates.  I first came across this duo (Inara George and Greg Kurstin) when they performed “I Can’t Go For That” on Ellen.  I love that song – I’m all about the lyrics! – so I made a mental note to get their album.  Then, I came across Jessica Zafra’s blog post about them, Finally, a Hall & Oates revival.”  Again, I made a note to look for it.  The final straw that got me off my butt to start to really look for it was when 2ndavenue used “Private Eyes” on their The Mentalist trailer.  “Private Eyes” is the favorite of mine, just a notch more than I like their signature “One On One”.

All Odyssey outlets have been out of copies.  And I had already given up.  But on the way to coffee from Giant Paulo’s farewell dinner, I passed by Astroplus and thought about just trying.  Asking wouldn’t hurt.  (Yes I know, Batman, that if only you could scream at me right now for not going to your fave store first!)

Astroplus still had stocks!  And I bought all three of them!  One for Giant Paulo who I know is such a music lover (I miss us singing KC Concepcion’s “Not Like The Movies” – I doing my best breathy vocals, you beatboxing.  Hahaha!).  One for Iron Man to pop into his player during those long drives.  One for Green Lantern, also a music lover, an eclectic one I may add, just because.

(*The title of this blog post was inspired by a retweet I read on Ms. Daphne Oseña Paez’s twitter account @DaphneOP.  I follow her.)

Copyright © 2011 by eNTeNG  c”,)™©’s  MunchTime™©.  All rights reserved.